ACT NoW team: Who is involved in the study?

The grant holders are a multi-disciplinary, cross-institutional research team with expertise in: speech and language therapy, stroke rehabilitation, neuro-psychology, consumer representation, clinical trial methodology, qualitative approaches, health economics, medical statistics, health outcome measurement and the voluntary sector. The team has experience in working with people with aphasia and dysarthria as health service providers, researchers and user representatives.

This section of the website contains information for all the members of the ACT NoW team.

The Research Team 

The study ended as of 31st October 2010 - the dedicated research teams are no longer in post therefore only details for the study Chief Investigator are shown here.

Dr Audrey Bowen Chief Investigator and Reader in Psychology (Speech and Language Therapy)


Trial Management Group (TMG)

The multi-disciplinary management group that oversee the project and work together to make decisions about how the trial should run. 


Professor Linda Davies Professor of Health Economics
Ms Sîan Davies Programme Director - Speech and Language Therapy
Dr Judy Ford Manager of the Stroke Research Network
Dr Anne Hesketh Clinical Senior Lecturer in Speech and Language Therapy
Professor Matt Lambon-Ralph Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience
Professor Andrew Long Professor of Health Systems Research
Mrs Gill Pearl Research User Group Coordinator
Ms Karen Sage Clinical Lecturer in Speech and Language Therapy
Dr Pippa Tyrell Senior Lecturer in Stroke Medicine
Mr Andy Vail Senior Lecturer and Statistician
Professor Caroline Watkins Coordinator of the North West Stroke Task Force
Professor Alys Young Professor of Social Work Education and Research - Lead on Qualitative Study